Meet the Commission 

The Commission consists of 13 Arlington residents, appointed by the Town Manager, the School Committee and the Town Moderator. Each of the commissioners serves a voluntary three-year term.

Sheri Baron

Sheri has been a Commissioner since AHRC’s formation.  Her formal career has been in non-profit development and speech and language pathology, while her informal career has focused on building an inclusive Arlington, including 20+ years as a Town Meeting member, projects to enhance the small business community, and involvement with town committees and the schools. She is extremely proud of the work the commission has done through the years to promote tolerance and respect for all people who live in, work in, and pass through our town.

Contact Sheri

SBphoto (1).jpg
Kristen Bauer (Co-Chair)

Kristen is a newly appointed Commissioner. She comes to the AHRC with a wealth of international human rights experience from working on these issues in U.S. Embassies overseas.  Kristen also has an American legal background. She is eager to deepen her understanding of challenges in Arlington and bring her experiences to strengthen the AHRC’s outreach and response.

Contact Kristen

Betsy Carlton-Gysan

Betsy joined the Commission in early 2018. She comes to the commission with a deep commitment to social justice, equality, and the power of community to advance both. She began her career in the progressive political and advocacy arena where she served for over a decade. She now works in the technology sector. An Arlington resident since 2013, she and her husband live in the center with their active 3 and 5 year old kiddos and sweet but grumpy pup Beulah.

Contact Betsy

Christine Carney (Treasurer)

Christine has served on the Commission since the 1990s. A self-described townie, she has worked to ensure her hometown is a welcoming place for all through volunteer leadership roles at several local organizations, engagement in town politics, and advancing ballot questions like the Community Preservation Act. 

Contact Christine

Kristina Fontanez

Kristina has been a Commissioner since early 2017. She comes to the AHRC with a passion for social justice and a dedication to advancing the cause of equality in Arlington. She currently works in research and development in the biotechnology sector. Kristina lives in Arlington with her husband and two sons, ages 8 and 4 years old.

Contact Kristina

Sharon Grossman (Co-Chair)

Sharon has been a Commissioner since 2013. A 30+ year Arlington resident, she has been involved in a variety of volunteer and activist roles including, co-founder of a group that advocated/supported/‘watch-dogged’ the schools, co-president of her children’s elementary school PTO, member of the AHS School Improvement Council, and working on and leading many political campaigns. Sharon is a School Psychologist and active in her synagogue. These experiences help to inform her passion for social justice, equity issues, and cultural awareness.

Contact Sharon

Gary Horowitz

Gary has been a Commissioner since 2010 and served as chairman for one year. He also has been a Town Meeting member. Gary comes to the commission with over 20 years experience working with at risk youth and as an educator. He believes strongly in equal rights for all and the Constitution where it says “all men are created equal” and is always a bit dismayed when people aren’t treated that way.

Contact Gary

Nick Minton

Nick has been a Commissioner since the founding of the AHRC in 1993. He is a retired political science professor who has been an Arlington resident since 1970. Nick currently serves on the Governing Board of Common Cause Massachusetts, and he has previously served as the Chair of the Arlington Fair Housing Committee, the Co-Chair of the Arlington Affordable Housing Task Force, and the President of the Arlington Civil Rights Committee. In these endeavors, Nick has been committed to promoting greater equity and fairness for all in our society.

Contact Nick